2017 All-ACC Preseason Football Team Announced - SCACCHoops.com

2017 All-ACC Preseason Football Team Announced

by All Things ACC

Posted: 7/19/2017 2:23:58 PM

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) – Defending national champion Clemson leads all schools with five selections to the 2017 All-Atlantic Coast Conference Preseason Football Team announced on Wednesday. 

RailsThe team was selected by a vote of 167 media members that were credentialed for last week’s ACC Football Kickoff in Charlotte.

The Tigers’ defensive tackle tandem of Christian Wilkins and Dexter Lawrence were both selected, along with the Clemson offensive trio of wide receiver Deon Cain, tackle Mitch Hyatt and guard Tyrone Crowder.

Miami, which was predicted to place first in the Coastal Division in the media preseason poll announced earlier this week, placed four players on the All-ACC preseason team. Preseason ACC favorite Florida State, defending Coastal Division champion Virginia Tech and NC State each had three players selected.

Eleven of the league’s 14 football programs placed at least one player on the 2017 All-ACC Preseason Team.

Reigning Heisman Trophy winner Lamar Jackson of Louisville was chosen to repeat as ACC Player of the Year after a record-setting 2016 campaign in which he averaged 393.4 yards per game of total offense and accounted for 51 touchdowns, both ACC single-season records. His 1,571 rushing yards and 21 rushing touchdowns were also ACC records for a quarterback.

Jackson, a rising junior from Pompano Beach, Florida, who is the youngest player to win the Heisman Trophy, also was named the 2016 National College Football Player of the Year by the Maxwell Award, Walter Camp, the Sporting News and CBS Sports

Jackson’s 132 votes led all players. He was followed by returning 1,000-yard rusher Mark Walton of Miami with 127 and Florida State safety Derwin James with 126. NC State all-purpose standout Jaylen Samuels had 124 votes while Clemson offensive linemen Hyatt and Tyrone Crowder each received 123 votes.

Others topping the century mark included Florida State cornerback Tarvarus McFadden with 117 votes, Boston College defensive end Harold Landry with 111 and Clemson’s Wilkins and Lawrence tied at defensive tackle with 105 votes apiece. Louisville cornerback Jaire Alexander was named on 104 ballots, Clemson wide receiver Deon Cain on 103, and NC State defensive end Bradley Chubb received 101 votes.

Other members of the All-ACC Preseason Team include running back Dedrick Mills (Georgia Tech), wide receivers Ahmmon Richards (Miami) and Cam Phillips (Virginia Tech), tight end Cam Serigne (Wake Forest), offensive tackle Brian O’Neill (Pitt), offensive guard Wyatt Teller (Virginia Tech) and center Alec Eberle (Florida State).

Defensive selections include linebackers Micah Kiser (Virginia), Shaquille Quarterman (Miami) and Tremaine Edwards (Virginia Tech), as well as Virginia safety Quin Blanding (Virginia).

Placekicker Michael Badgley (Miami), punter A.J. Cole III (NC State) and kick returner Quadree Henderson (Pitt) round out the special teams corps.

2017 All-ACC Preseason Football Team


WR – Deon Cain, Jr., Clemson

WR – Ahmmon Richards, So., Miami

WR – Cam Phillips, Sr., Virginia Tech

TE – Cam Serigne, Sr.-r, Wake Forest

AP – Jaylen Samuels, Sr., NC State

OT – Mitch Hyatt, Jr., Clemson

OT – Brian O’Neill, Jr.-r, Pitt

OG – Tyrone Crowder, Sr.-r, Clemson

OG – Wyatt Teller, Sr.-r, Virginia Tech

C – Alec Eberle, Jr.-r, Florida State

QB – Lamar Jackson, Jr., Louisville

RB – Mark Walton, Jr., Miami

RB – Dedrick Mills, So., Georgia Tech


DE – Harold Landry, Sr., Boston College

DE – Bradley Chubb, Sr., NC State

DT – Dexter Lawrence, So., Clemson

DT – Christian Wilkins, Jr., Clemson

LB – Micah Kiser, Sr.-r, Virginia

LB – Shaquille Quarterman, So., Miami

LB – Tremaine Edmunds, Jr., Virginia Tech

CB – Tarvarus McFadden, Jr., Florida State

CB – Jaire Alexander, Jr., Louisville

S – Derwin James, So.-r, Florida State

S – Quin Blanding, Sr., Virginia

Special Teams

PK – Michael Badgley, Jr., Miami

P – A.J. Cole III, Jr., NC State

SP – Quadree Henderson, Jr., Pitt

2017 All-ACC Preseason Team Voting


Lamar Jackson, Louisville 132; Deondre Francois, Florida State 29; Eric Dungey, Syracuse 3; Daniel Jones, Duke 2; Ryan Finley, NC State 1.

Running Back

Mark Walton Miami, 127; Dedrick Mills, Georgia Tech 75; Jacques Patrick, Florida State 38; Travon McMillian, Virginia Tech 24; Nyheim Hines, NC State 19; Jeremy Smith, Louisville 16; Shaun Wilson, Duke 16; Jon Hilliman, Boston College 10; Clinton Lynch, Georgia Tech 4; Dontae Strickland, Syracuse 2; Qua Searcy, Georgia Tech 2; George Aston, Pitt 1.

Wide Receiver

Deon Cain, Clemson 103; Ahmmon Richards, Miami 77; Cam Phillips, Virginia Tech 68; Hunter Renfrow, Clemson 44; Jaylen Smith, Louisville 44; Nyqwan Murray, Florida State 33; Ervin Philips, Syracuse 24; Jester Weah, Pitt 22; Auden Tate, Florida State 22; T.J. Rahming, Duke 13; Austin Proehl, North Carolina 12; Ricky Jeune, Georgia Tech 10; Steve Ishmael, Syracuse 9; Kelvin Harmon, NC State 7; Doni Dowling, Virginia 4; Stephen Louis, NC State 3; Olamide Zaccheaus, Virginia 3; Thomas Jackson, North Carolina 2; Jeff Smith, Boston College 1.

Tight End

Cam Serigne, Wake Forest 96; Chris Herndon IV, Miami 29; Ryan Izzo, Florida State 23; Brandon Fritts, North Carolina 6; Daniel Helm, Duke 5; Tommy Sweeney, Boston College 4; Carl Tucker, North Carolina 4.


Jaylen Samuels, NC State 124; Quadree Henderson, Pitt 43.

Offensive Tackle

Mitch Hyatt, Clemson 123; Brian O'Neill, Pitt 83; Bentley Spain, North Carolina 32; Rick Leonard, Florida State 20; Geron Christian, Louisville 14; Brock Ruble, Florida State 13; Tyler Jones, NC State 9; Evan Lisle, Duke 8; Sean Pollard, Clemson 8; Ryan Anderson, Wake Forest 6; Andrew Marshall, Georgia Tech 6; Yosuah Nijman, Virginia Tech 5; Justin Herron, Wake Forest 4; Jahaziel Lee, Georgia Tech 2; Lukayus McNeil, Louisville 1.

Offensive Guard

Tyrone Crowder, Clemson 123; Wyatt Teller, Virginia Tech 52; Tony Adams, NC State 50; KC McDermott, Miami

Recent Articles from All Things ACC

Recommended Articles



SCACC Hoops has no affiliation to the NCAA or the ACC
Team logos are trademarks of their respective organizations (more/credits)

Privacy Policy